Syrian e-Government Project
Syrian e-Government Web Portal



Legislative Authority

The legislative authority of the state shall be assumed by the People’s Assembly in accordance with the manner prescribed in the Constitution.

The People's Assembly:

  • The People's Assembly term shall be for four calendar years from the date of its first meeting and it may not be extended except in case of war by a law.
  • Members of the People’s Assembly shall be elected by the public, secret, direct and equal vote in accordance with the provisions of the Election Law.
  • The Assembly shall call for three regular sessions per year; the total of which should not be less than six months, and the Assembly’s rules of procedure shall set the time and duration of each of them.
  • The Assembly may be invited to extraordinary sessions upon the request of the Speaker, one third of the members of the Assembly or the Assembly’s office.

The People's Assembly undertakes the following functions:

  1. Approval of laws;
  2. Discussing the statement of the cabinet;
  3. Perform a vote of no-confidence in the cabinet or a minister;
  4. Approval of the general budget and final accounts;
  5. Approval of development plans;
  6. Approval of international treaties and conventions related to the safety of the state, including treaties of peace, alliance and all treaties related to the rights of sovereignty or conventions which grant privileges to foreign companies or institutions as well as treaties and conventions entailing additional expenses not included in its budget; or treaties and conventions related to loans' contract or that are contrary to the provisions of the laws in force and requires new legislation which should come into force;
  7. Approval of a general amnesty;
  8. Accepting or rejecting the resignation of one of the members of the Assembly.

The Executive Authority

The President of the Republic and the Prime Minister exercise executive authority on behalf of the people within the limits provided for in the constitution.

The President of the Republic:

1. The President of the Republic shall be elected directly by the people;

2. The candidate who wins the election for the President of the Republic is the one who gets the absolute majority of those who take part in the elections. If no candidate receives that majority, a rerun is carried out between the two candidates who receive the largest number of votes;

3. The results shall be announced by the Speaker of the People’s Assembly.

The Council of Ministers:

1. The Council of Ministers is the highest executive and administrative authority of the state. It consists of the Prime Minister, his deputies and the ministers. It supervises the implementation of the laws and regulations and oversees the work of state institutions;

2. The Prime Minister supervises the work of his deputies and the ministers.

Local Councils:

1. The organization of local administration units is based on applying the principle of decentralization of authorities and responsibilities. The law states the relationship between these units and the central authority, their mandate, financial revenues and control over their work. It also states the way their heads are appointed or elected, their authorities and the authorities of heads of sectors.

2. Local administration units shall have councils elected in a general, secret, direct and equal manner.

The Judicial Authority

The judicial authority is independent; and the President of the Republic insures this independence assisted by the Supreme Judicial Council.